Latest items are added at the top.
Scroll down to see earlier items.
Click on the links to go to larger photographs or more information.

News 2016-17

Return to Home page go to about TCC page You are on the News page go to this season's games go to archives

search Tarbolton CC Web site

Return to 2016-2017 Archive Index


News and Highlights

Nessie Mair

Cue Bonspiel

Margaret Morton skipped the winning rink in the Nessie Mair Cue Bonspiel. She beat Jim Mair with the last stone in the final.

Day League

The club's hold on League A finally slipped. We recorded only a single win, but that was a satisfying 12-1 against Dundonald. Our usual skip Robert Struthers was unfortunately indisposed for half of the season, but it looks like he will be fit and raring to go next season in League B.

Presentation (2) at AGM

Special mugs were awarded to the rink that won the Ross Low for Tarbolton.

Presentation (1) at AGM

The AGM was held on Tuesday 9th May at the Black Bull, Tarbolton. The evening began with a presentation to Margaret Morton in anticipation of her 80th birthday later in the month.

McFadzean Cup

Martha McFadzean presents the McFadzean Cup to Jim McFadzean skip, Andy Eccles, Ian Wilkie and Colin Baillie.


Trophies presented after the dinner: Wilkie Trophy (Gangrels match), Paterson Horn, Dr Morris Salver, John Dodd Rose Bowl, Teapot League, Jim Smith Pairs, Coulson League, Victoria League and the Medal League.

Hugh Fergusson

Jim Wilson skipped the winning rink in the high road of the Hugh Fergusson Plate, the closing individual entry competition of the season.

Grudge Match

The Grudge Match was held on the 19th March
Allan took the 1st 3 ends to go 6 – 0 up. Offers to Carlos to shake hands at that were politely declined and the game continued. Carlos had some big scores in the 2nd half and after 8 ends all was square at 11 shots each. The skips threw the deciding stones to the button Carlos's shot falling short and Allan cheered on by a large crowd and his dog did.
Allan retained the trophy having won it for the second year by the deciding stone
A great afternoon was had by all
Teams: Allan Ferguson, George Hunter, Jim McFadzean and Joe Hayes.
Carlos van Heddegem, Gemill Jack, Willie Morton and Paul Hunter.

Interclub v

Shona Smith presents the Wilkie Trophy to winning skip Stuart Bates, Gordon Johnstone (not present) Lou Costello, Robin Wilson.

Interclub v
Land of Burns

Tarbolton lost in the 1st inter club game against LOB, 12 shots to 9.

George hunter, Lou Costello, Allan Ferguson and Chris Clow lost to Duncan McCallum’s rink 7 – 4 and Duncan Todd, Shona Brown, Stuart Bates and Carlos van Heddegem peeled with Ian Greaves rink.

Medal League

The league was pretty tight this year. Robert's rink won with 8 points, with the next three tied on 6 and separated by ends. Table and results.

Paterson Horn


The Paterson Horn was played against Darvel. Tarbolton won by two games to one. These were 3 close games with the lead changing hands in all the games.

Jim McFadzean’s rink of Jim McFadzean, Carlos van Hedegem, Allan Ferguson and Jim Jack took the Paterson Horn beating Mark Meehan by13 shots and 5 ends to 8 shots and 3 ends. Jim was 4 shots down after the 1st end but managed to get in front by the 5th end.

George Hunter, Lou Costello, Ian Wilkie and David Reader beat Bobby Gault 9 shots and 4 ends to 8 shots and 3 ends.

Niall Mackie , Gordon Johnstone, Margaret Morton and Joe Hayes lost to Ruaraidh Park 4 shots and 3 ends to 7 shots and 4 ends.

The Darvel rinks were

Bobby Gault, Andy Dickie, Chris Clow, Frances Fyfe

Mark Meehan, Jacob Whittle, Chris Rowley, Mike Reekie

Ruaraidh Park, Beth Rowley, Duncan McNaught, Hugh Callender

Tarbolton won the last Paterson Horn game against Darvel in 1998.

Ross Low

Tarbolton won the Ross Low, beating Galston 4 shots to 3 in the final.

The Tarbolton rink: Robert Struthers (skip), Williie Morton, Allan Ferguson and Gordon Johnstone.

Tarbolton beat Fairywell in the semi-final 7 shots to 0

Tarbolton won their preliminary league beating Dalmellington and Ayr but losing to Dundonald. A special presentation was made at the AGM (photo).

update 3 Nov.

Results for Medal and Victoria Leagues.

ACC Opening Day Bonspiel

We had a very good opening day.
Tarbolton had 2 rinks entered with 2 guest players.
In the 2 pm session Tarbolton beat Fairywell 13 shots to 3 and were overall winners for this section.
Tarbolton rink was Robert Struthers (skip) Colin Naysmith guest player, Allan Ferguson and Duncan M’Naught.
In the 4 pm session Tarbolton beat St Leonard's 8 shots to 5.
Tarbolton rink: Willie Morton (Skip), Margaret Morton, Chris Clow and Frances Marshall guest player.

Both were very enjoyable games, Roberts rink were delighted with their bottles of whisky and Willie played a stormer to beat Jennifer Mutters rink. We had an excellent meal afterwards supplied by Passion Caterers.

Season 2016-17

Pages have been uploaded for 2015-16 club competitions and for the day league.

Follow the links from the 'all games' button, or use the links below:

Medal : Victoria Cup : Teapot : Coulson : John Dodd : Dr Morris : Pairs : Day League

2015-16 archive

Last season is now in the archive, here.

Back to top of page