Latest items are added at the top.
Scroll down to see earlier items.
Click on the links to go to larger photographs or more information.

News 2015-2016

Return to Home page go to about TCC page You are on the News page go to this season's games go to archives

search Tarbolton CC Web site

Return to 2015-2016 Archive Index


News and Highlights


For photos of the presentations please go to the individual competition pages. Medal; Victoria; Pairs; Coulson; John Dodd; Dr Morris;

Dodd Teapot

McFadzean Cup

The winning rink:

Carlos van Heddegem (skip), Stuart Bates (3rd ), Hugh Rooney (2nd ), Jan Eccles (lead).

Coulson League

Shona Brown, George Hunter, Ian Wilkie, subs.

The original skip John Wylie had to withdraw due to ill health.

Jim Smith Pairs Winners

Willie Morton and Stuart Bates

Dodd Teapot Winners

David Reader, Lou Costello, Allan Ferguson, Duncan Todd

Victoria League Winners

Lou Costello, Niall Mackie, Penny Richardson, Joe Hayes

Medal League Winners

Robert Struthers, Margaret Morton, Chris Clow, Mike Reekie

Paterson Horn

Carlos presented the trophy to the winning skip Gavin Hamilton.

The Paterson Horn was played against Galston who won by 2 games to 1. Gavin Hamilton was the winning skip.

Robert Struthers 5S 4E beat John Davers 4S 3E.

George Hunter 2S 2E lost to Jim Boswell 10S 5E

Niall Mackie 5S 3E lost to Gavin Hamilton 15S 5E

Tarbolton: Robert Struthers, Willie Morton Carlos van Heddegem, David West.

George Hunter, Allan Ferguson, Robin Wilson, Hugh Rooney

Niall Mackie, Shona Brown, Stuart Bates, Chris Clow

Galston: John Davers, Morag Evans, l Minto, W McCrindle

Jim Boswell, Allison Cunningham, R Park, P Cassellis

Gavin Hamilton, A Cameron, R Boyd, Jean Morton

Gangrels Match

We lost to the Gangrels by 14 shots to 15.  The ice rink changed the time from 7.15 to 5.00 and I can't find any record of Gangrels telling us. Neither can they so far. Lou picked up on it about 3.30 when he was at the ice rink. We managed to scramble our rinks together except for Carlos who was stuck in Dalrymple with the trophy. They only had 6 players. 2 good games but no trophy to present.

Tarbolton: Willie Morton, Robert Struthers, Stuart Bates: 7S 4E.

George Hunter, Lou Costello, Andy Eccles, Chris Clow: 7S 3E.

Gangrels: Francis McCrossin, Earnest Mutter, B Grassom: 6S 3E

Ken Ross, Ronnie Wilson, Peter Galloway: 9S 5E

Grudge Match

The Grudge Match was held on Sunday 14th February 2016. Report below.

Report from our war correspondent:

The Grudge Match was a close run thing but Carlos met his Waterloo when the skips threw the deciding stones. Allan’s stone with a lot of sweeping and complaining reached the blue circle followed by Carlos’s stone which was a bit of a cavalry charge out the back of the rink.
During the game Allan went into a 4 shot lead. Suggestions that they should shake hands at this point were declined and Carlos replied by winning the next 2 ends going ahead by a single shot. Allan won the next end to be all square after 8 ends. Allan winning on the shoot out.
The winning rink
Allan Ferguson, George Hunter, Jim McFadzean, David Reader.
Runners-up Carlos van Heddegem, Robert Struthers , Willie Morton, Chris Clow.

ACC Burns Supper

Lou and Cathy at the Ayr Curling Club Burns Supper. More on the ACC Web site.

Ayr Curling Club

It should have been noted earlier that the Costellos are taking over Ayr CC. For the present season Cathy is Lady President, and Lou is Vice President.

Congratulations to them both.

D Morris Salver

The Dr Morris Salver was won by Robert Struther's rink by the narrowest of margins with 10 shots and 6 ends, just beating Jim McFadzean's rink who had 10 shots and 5 ends. Margaret and Willie Morton were not far behind with 8 shots a-piece. Go to results ...

McGill Smith

Lou Costello played second in the runners-up rink skipped by Robert Boyd. The McGill Smith is an ACC individual entry bonspiel.

Ayr CC Quiz

Chris and Lou were in the winning team, 'Ayr United', representing Darvel CC. Cathy presented the prizes.

Maple Leaf Bonspiel

(ACC individual entry competition).

The runners-up rink was skipped by Jim Wilson.

Ross Low

Tarbolton finished 3rd in section; Gangrels and Galston went forward to the semi-finals. Gangrels played Dundonald and Galston played Dalmellington. In the final Dundonald defeated Galston.

TCC Competition Results

First games have been played in the Medal, Victoria, Coulson and Teapot leagues. Results have been posted here.

Eglinton Jug

Not a happy hunting ground for TCC this year with both rinks out in the first round. Robert lost 6-8 to St Leonard's and George 3-7 to Dundonald 2.

Opening Bonspiel

Tarbolton lost to St Leonard's (see also Eglinton Jug).

Parish Trophy

Tarbolton is drawn against Sorn in round 1 of this knock-out competition. The tie will be played on Monday 11th January at 2.30. The semi-final and final will be played on Monday 25th January at 2.30 and 5.00 respectively. If we win against Sorn our opposition in the semi-final will be either Gangrels or Galston.

Ross Low

Tarbolton will play Galston, Ayr & Alloway and Gangrels in Group B.

The draw is here.

2014-15 archive

Last season is now in the archive, here.

Back to top of page